June 2013

Sister Loraine Brown of Sioux Falls celebrated her 60th anniversary as an Aberdeen Presentation Sister on Friday, June 21.
Brown graduated from Notre Dame Academy in Mitchell, earned a teaching certificate from Presentation College, Aberdeen, and a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from Northern State University in Aberdeen.
Area towns where she taught included Woonsocket, Huron and Mitchell.

MITCHELL — The spring semester dean’s list at Dakota Wesleyan University includes 188 students.
Among those on the list are Caitlin Bruckman,  of Letcher, Lacey VanLaecken of Letcher and Emily Olson of Woonsocket.
To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must have a semester grade point average of at least 3.5 on a four-point scale. They also have to complete at least 12 hours of academic work during the semester. The following students have been named to the dean’s list.

Southeast Technical Institute in Sioux Falls has announced its spring 2013 president’s list. These students have demonstrated outstanding academic performance in the classroom and laboratory settings.
In order to become eligible for the president’s list, students must be full-time and have achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 for the semester. These students should be commended for their efforts and performance.
The student achieving this recognition at Southeast Technical Institute from our community is Nicholas Feistner of Woonsocket, whose major is collision repair and refinish technology.