March 2018

The Mitchell Tigers basketball team earned bronze medals in their division at the Special Olympics basketball tournament held in Mitchell over the weekend.

On Saturday and Sunday, March 24-25, 820 athletes on 74 different teams from 25 delegations from across the state, participated in the Special Olympics basketball tournament in Mitchell.

Three local graduates played for the Mitchell Tigers team, and they earned bronze medals for placing third in their division. Those participating for the Tigers were: Ian Ames, Kyle Clarambeau and Matthew Baysinger. Another team member for the Mitchell Tigers, who has ties to the Woonsocket community, is Tayler Reichelt and the team’s coach, Cody Reichelt, Tayler’s brother. The Reichelt boys are the sons of Ann (Hinker) Reichelt.

Rod Clarambeau of Letcher coached the Mitchell Outlaws team, who also earned a bronze medal for third place in their division, and his daughter, Shana (Clarambeau) Jensen played for that team as a Unified Partner.

On Tuesday, March 20, six Blackhawks basketball players participated in the CBH vs. Cornbelt Conference All-Star basketball game in Alexandria.

On the girls’ side of play, the Custer Battlefield Highway Conference team members struggled, losing to the Cornbelt Conference team 34-80. Sanborn Central/Woonsocket’s own Sarah Morgan led the scoring for the CBH Conference girls with 10 points.

The boys’ CBH team fared much better during their game against the Cornbelt boys. Led by SCW’s Trey Weber’s 18 points, they beat the Cornbelt team 105-79.

…See pictures in this week’s issue of the Sanborn Weekly Journal!

Following are the Sanborn Central High School students that made the honor roll:

“A” Honor Roll (3.495-4.0): Seniors – Weston Baysinger, Catherine Bechen, Trent Kingsbury, Koby Larson, Sarah Morgan; Juniors – Renee Farmer, Cole Moody, Madison Moody, Eric Ruml, Austin Schmit, Sawyer Senska, Abigail Vermeulen; Sophomores: Samantha Dean, Tater Moody, Katie Schmit, Aiden Wormstadt; Freshmen – Lucy Nicholson, Cassidy Slykhuis;

“B” Honor Roll (2.995-3.494): Seniors – Quentin Schmidt, Levi Swearingen; Juniors – Adriana Salas, Alex Wormstadt; Sophomores – Noah Dickson.

Students of the Quarter were Senior Koby Larson, Junior Renee Farmer, Sophomore Katie Schmit, and Freshman Harley Kneen.

…See pictures of the Star Students in this week’s issue of the Sanborn Weekly Journal!