Sanborn County Commissioners proceedings

JUNE 4, 2019

Sanborn County Commissioners met in regular session on Tuesday, June 4, 2019, at 9:00 a.m. with Chairman Jeff Ebersdorfer presiding. Other members present were: Steve Larson, Ray Ohlrogge, Gary Blindauer, and Paul Larson. Also present was Auditor Diane Larson. Motion by Ohlrogge, seconded by P. Larson, to approve the minutes as presented. All ayes. Motion carried. 


Jason Coenen, Emergency Management Director, presented a Resolution For Declaration of an Emergency Disaster.  Motion by P. Larson, seconded by Blindauer, to approve the following resolution:


WHEREAS, Sanborn County, South Dakota has suffered severe damages to roads brought on by the flooding from the May 21, 2019 rainstorm, and,

WHEREAS, the flooding caused significant road damage and roads and culverts to be washed out, and

NOW BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Sanborn County Commissioners do hereby declare a disaster for the population of the area impacted.

The Sanborn County Commissioners do respectfully request that any and all assistance that may be available from State and Federal agencies be provided to all local governments to include Sanborn County and to the local businesses and the general population as we work to overcome this disaster.

BE IT ALSO RESOLVED THAT the Sanborn County Commissioners do hereby declare a flooding disaster and respectfully request the Governor of the state of South Dakota to ensure that the maximum amount of assistance is made available to local governments, businesses and residents affected.

Dated this 4th day of June, 2019.


Diane Larson

Sanborn County Auditor

Jeff Ebersdorfer, 


Sanborn County Board 

of Commissioners

Vote of County Commissioners: Yea 5, Nay 0


Motion by Blindauer, seconded by Ohlrogge, to enter executive session to discuss personnel.  All ayes. Motion carried. Chairman Ebersdorfer declared an end to executive session at 9:40 a.m.


Stacy Mendenhall, Highway Superintendent, and Sheri Kogel, Administrative Assistant, met with the board. Much discussion was held on equipment and road maintenance.    


The Rural Attorney Recruitment Program was discussed. No decision was made at this time.  


Auditor Larson presented an agreement with the State of South Dakota Department of Health for a grant award of financial assistance with Sanborn County as the sub-recipient. Motion by S. Larson, seconded by P. Larson, to enter this agreement. All ayes. Motion carried.


Tom Carda, Custodian reported there are two dead trees around the courthouse, not sixteen as previously thought. Because of the location of the trees, Carda recommended that a professional remove the trees.   


Andy Ettswold of the Letcher Community met with the board to discuss ambulance service in the county.


Auditor and Treasurer in all accounts $4,429,257.19

Register of Deeds $2,786.50

Motion by Ohlrogge, seconded by Blindauer, to pay the following bills. All ayes. Motion carried.

Huron Regional Medical Center, Wage Garnishment $292.36

First National Bank, Tax Liability $2,098.06

South Dakota Department of Revenue, Malt Beverage $300.00

Avera Health Plan, Insurance $21,003.80

AFLAC, Insurance $1,140.08

AFLAC, Insurance $199.60

South Dakota Retirement System, Retirement $7,533.46

South Dakota Retirement System, Retirement $44.79

Small Business, Insurance $51.00

Sanborn County Treasurer, Real Estate Taxes $293.95

Sun Life Financial, Insurance $64.75

VSP, Insurance $199.78

EMC National Life Company, Insurance $401.28

Colonial Life, Insurance $439.56

Colonial Life, Insurance $18.86

First National Bank, Tax Liability $12,233.77

Avera Health Plan, Insurance $2,333.74

EMC National Life Company, Insurance $50.62

VSP, Insurance $12.49

South Dakota Department of Revenue, Malt Beverage $150.00

Sanborn County Treasurer, Taxes in Trust $1,886.12

Huron Regional Medical Center, Wage Garnishment $292.36

First National Bank, Tax Liability $292.36

Agtegra, Supplies $22.81

Jolene Anderson, Mileage/Supplies $50.59

AT&T Mobility, Air Cards $163.41

Aurora County, Mileage $82.32

South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, Catastrophic Legal Expense Relief Fund $1,119.00

Express 2, Fuel $71.08

Express Stop, Fuel $20.18

Penny Farris, Travel Expense $485.00

Wayne Feistner, Oversize $1,714.00

Forestburg Well Company, Water Rent $200.00

Hillyard, Supplies $341.10

KO’s, Supplies $351.90

Larson & Nipe, Office Expense $1,250.00

LED Outfitters, Grille Lights $385.86

Lifequest, Quarterly Remittance $1,875.00

Mac’s Hardware, Supplies $19.78

McLeod’s, Supplies $159.57

Menard’s, Supplies $23.98

Kathy Nelson, Sew Patches $40.00

NorthWestern Energy, Electricity $1,024.43

Office Peeps, Supplies $522.95

Ramkota, Motel Expense $311.97

Sherryl Rankin, Mileage $56.28

Runnings, Supplies $411.54

Sanborn County Ambulance, Meals $23.18

Santel Communications, Phone and Internet $326.21

Travis Coulthard, Wiring $296.66

United Laboratories, Supplies $312.16

Vantek Communications, Radio and Office Repeater $3,900.41

Woonsocket City, Water/Sewer $82.68

X-cel Energy, Electricity $84.08

Yankton County Treasurer, Mental Illness Hearing $74.40

May payroll before deductions:

Commissioners $3,025.00

Auditor $5,392.13

Treasurer $5,512.13

States Attorney $3,766.84

Courthouse $3,540.72

Assessor $5,774.21

Register of Deeds $4,255.30

Sheriff $12,466.16

Public Welfare $1,872.00

County Nurse $1,145.63

Ambulance $1,480.00

Extension Office $1,668.50

Weed $1,350.00

Drainage $135.00

Road and Bridge $25,296.62

E-911 $105.75

Emergency Management $516.30

Sobriety Testing $244.00

There being no further business, motion by S. Larson, seconded by P. Larson, to adjourn the meeting.  All ayes.  Motion carried.  The next regularly scheduled meeting is Tuesday, June 18, 2019.  

Diane LarsonSanborn County AuditorJeff Ebersdorfer

Chairman of the Board,

Sanborn County

Comments are closed.

  • Weather

    June 2, 2023, 5:03 pm
    Mostly sunny
    real feel: 84°F
    humidity: 35%
    wind speed: 11 mph SSE
    wind gusts: 18 mph
  • Upcoming Events

    June 2023
    Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
    May 28, 2023 May 29, 2023 May 30, 2023 May 31, 2023 June 1, 2023 June 2, 2023 June 3, 2023
    June 4, 2023 June 5, 2023 June 6, 2023 June 7, 2023 June 8, 2023 June 9, 2023 June 10, 2023
    June 11, 2023 June 12, 2023 June 13, 2023 June 14, 2023 June 15, 2023 June 16, 2023 June 17, 2023
    June 18, 2023 June 19, 2023 June 20, 2023 June 21, 2023 June 22, 2023 June 23, 2023 June 24, 2023
    June 25, 2023 June 26, 2023 June 27, 2023 June 28, 2023 June 29, 2023 June 30, 2023 July 1, 2023
  • Recent Posts

  • Contact Us

    Ph/Fax: 605.796.4221

    PO BOX 218
    Woonsocket, SD 57385
  • Archives