Sanborn County Commissioners proceedings

OCTOBER 1, 2019

Sanborn County Commissioners met in regular session on Tuesday, October 1, 2019, at 9:00 a.m. with Chairman Jeff Ebersdorfer presiding. Other members present were: Ray Ohlrogge, Gary Blindauer, Steve Larson, and Paul Larson. Also present was Auditor Diane Larson. Motion by Blindauer, seconded by Ohlrogge, to approve the minutes as presented. All ayes. Motion carried. 


Todd Brueske, Brueske Construction, met with the board to explain a bill for removing an excavator for the highway department.


Stacy Mendenhall, Highway Superintendent, and Sheri Kogel, Administrative Assistant, met with the board.  Equipment was discussed.  Rock has been purchased.  Kogel presented grant agreements for preliminary engineering for bridge improvements on structures 56-030-025 and 56-200-153. The agreement states that Sanborn County will be responsible for 20 percent  of the cost.  Motion by P. Larson, seconded by S. Larson, to enter this agreement. All ayes.  Motion carried.   


Don Klinkner, Chuck Peer, Shelly Hoffman, and Tyler Hoffman met with the board on concerns with the bridge improvement in their neighborhood. This project is on hold until there are drier conditions.


Motion by Ohlrogge, seconded by P. Larson, to meet as a board of adjustment. All ayes. Motion carried. Penny Farris, Director of Equalization, presented  a plat for Jay and Mike Larson stating A Plat of Lots A and B of Jim’s First Addition in portions of Government Lots 1 and 2 in the NW1/4 of Section 31, T 108, R61 W of the 5th PM., Sanborn County, South Dakota. Motion by S. Larson, seconded by P. Larson, to approve the plat and the variance issued because the lot is less than 10 acres. All ayes. Motion carried.


Jim Taylor, Attorney at Law; Ryan Laker, Jim Taylor’s Office; Scott Groepper, NRCS; Kathy Torres, FSA; Michael Blessington, Deb Williams, and Shilo Comeau, U.S. Fish and Wildlife; Gary Leistico, Attorney at Law; Jayne Esch, Attorney at Law; and interested citizens Laren Feistner, Everett Evers, Mike Miller, Dan Swenson, Dale Swenson, Darren Swenson, and Richard Estabrook met with the board to discuss ditches and the damage done to roads by the excessive water. The different agencies and Jim Taylor will be sharing information to hopefully find some relief to the water problems. 


Jason Coenen, Emergency Management Director, presented a Resolution For Declaration of an Emergency or Disaster. Motion by Blindauer, seconded by S. Larson, to approve the following resolution:


WHEREAS, Sanborn County, South Dakota has suffered severe damages to roads brought on by the flooding from the rainstorms the week of September 9, 2019, and,

WHEREAS, the flooding caused significant road damage and roads and culverts to be washed out, and

WHEREAS, the flooding caused significant damage to homes in Sanborn County, and

NOW BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Sanborn County Commissioners do hereby declare a disaster for the population of the area impacted.

The Sanborn County Commissioners do respectfully request that any and all assistance that may be available from State and Federal agencies be provided to all local governments to include Sanborn County and to the local businesses and the general population as we work to overcome this disaster.

BE IT ALSO RESOLVED THAT the Sanborn County Commissioners do hereby declare a flooding disaster and respectfully request the Governor of the state of South Dakota to ensure that the maximum amount of assistance is made available to local governments, businesses, and residents affected.

Dated this 1st day of October, 2019


Diane Larson

Sanborn County Auditor

Jeff Ebersdorfer 


Sanborn County Board 

of Commissioners

Vote of County Commissioner: Yea 5, Nay 0


Motion by S. Larson, seconded by Ohlrogge, to pay the following bills. All ayes. Motion carried.

First National Bank, Tax Liability $12,287.16

Avera Health Plan, Insurance $22,559.64

AFLAC, Insurance $1,140.08

AFLAC, Insurance $199.60

South Dakota Retirement, Retirement $7,756.10

South Dakota Retirement, Retirement $44.79

Small Business, Insurance $51.00

Sanborn County Treasurer, Real Estate Taxes $70.00

Sun Life Financial, Insurance $161.71

VSP, Insurance $220.83

Accounts Management, Wage Garnish $230.63

EMC National Life Company, Insurance $422.82

Credit Collections, Wage Garnish $59.83

Colonial Life, Insurance $611.92

Colonial Life, Insurance $18.86

First National Bank, Tax Liability $2,404.55

EMC National Life Company, Insurance $17.80

Sanborn County Treasurer, Taxes in Trust $1,196.67

AmeriPride Services, Laundry $187.00

Jolene Anderson, Mileage/Supplies $57.46

AT&T Mobility, Air Cards $148.16

Axon Enterprise, Storage & Licenses $795.00

Brooks Oil Company, Propane $3,825.00

Todd O. Brueske Construction, Pull out excavator $2,551.03

CHS Farmers Alliance, Propane $192.72

Express 2, Fuel $129.64

Express Stop, Fuel $30.91

First National Bank Omaha, Travel Expense/Supplies $1,232.87

Henry Schein Inc., Supplies $572.39

City of Huron, Teletype Service $770.00

KO’s, Tow Bills $250.00

Larson & Nipe, Office Expense $1,250.00

Mid American Research Chemical, Supplies $157.43

Office Equipment Service, Repair Copier $266.79

Office Peeps, Supplies $54.00

Pharm Chem Inc., Sweat Patch Analysis $199.85

Sherryl Rankin, Mileage $43.68

Scott Supply Company, Supplies $317.75

South Dakota Federal Property Agency, Meals $28.00

Woonsocket City, Water/Sewer $82.08

X-cel Energy, Electricity $10.84

September payroll before deductions:

Commissioners $3,025.00

Auditor $5,381.13

Treasurer $5,501.13

States Attorney $3,766.84

Courthouse $3,540.72

Assessor $5,698.31

Register of Deeds $4,315.80

Sheriff $12,523.16

Public Welfare $1,807.00

County Nurse $1,116.25

Ambulance $1,615.00

WIC $58.75

Extension Office $1,929.94

Weed $751.32

Drainage $180.00

Road and Bridge $28,735.07

Emergency Management $516.30

Sobriety Testing $150.00

There being no further business, motion by P. Larson, seconded by Blindauer, to adjourn the meeting.  All ayes. Motion carried. Next regularly scheduled meeting is Tuesday, October 15, 2019.   

Diane LarsonSanborn County Auditor

Jeff Ebersdorfer

Chairman of the Board, 

Sanborn County

Comments are closed.

  • Weather

    October 17, 2021, 2:21 am
    Mostly clear
    real feel: 42°F
    humidity: 80%
    wind speed: 4 mph SW
    wind gusts: 9 mph
  • Upcoming Events

    October 2021
    Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
    September 26, 2021 September 27, 2021 September 28, 2021 September 29, 2021 September 30, 2021 October 1, 2021 October 2, 2021
    October 3, 2021 October 4, 2021 October 5, 2021 October 6, 2021 October 7, 2021 October 8, 2021 October 9, 2021
    October 10, 2021 October 11, 2021 October 12, 2021 October 13, 2021 October 14, 2021 October 15, 2021 October 16, 2021
    October 17, 2021 October 18, 2021 October 19, 2021 October 20, 2021 October 21, 2021 October 22, 2021 October 23, 2021
    October 24, 2021 October 25, 2021 October 26, 2021 October 27, 2021 October 28, 2021 October 29, 2021 October 30, 2021
    October 31, 2021 November 1, 2021 November 2, 2021 November 3, 2021 November 4, 2021 November 5, 2021 November 6, 2021
  • Recent Posts

  • Contact Us

    Ph/Fax: 605.796.4221

    PO BOX 218
    Woonsocket, SD 57385
  • Archives