Sanborn County Commissioners proceedings

NOVEMBER 19, 2019

Sanborn County Commissioners met in regular session on Tuesday, November 19, 2019, at 9:00 a.m. with Chairman Jeff Ebersdorfer presiding. Other members present were: Ray Ohlrogge, Gary Blindauer, and Steve Larson. Absent was Paul Larson. Also present was Auditor Diane Larson.  Motion by Ohlrogge, seconded by Blindauer, to approve the minutes as presented. All ayes. Motion carried. 


Stacy Mendenhall, Highway Superintendent, and Sheri Kogel, Administrative Assistant, met with the board. Road conditions and equipment for the winter months were discussed. Motion by S. Larson, seconded by Blindauer, for the Highway Department to work a five-day week from 7:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. each day starting December 2nd. All ayes. Motion carried.  


Motion by S. Larson, seconded by Ohlrogge, to approve the following liquor licenses:

John Doren – Retail (On-Sale) Liquor and Package (Off Sale) Liquor – DBA/Doren’s Bar;   

Country Pumper – Retail (On-Sale) Wine – Louise Alt;

All Ayes. Motion carried.


Motion by Blindauer, seconded by S. Larson, to pay longevity pay at $25.00 per year for employment of five years or more. All ayes. Motion carried.


Auditor Larson presented ambulance bills in the amount of $2,434.00 and prisoner confinement bills in the amount of $575.00 for Indigent #19-1. The person has passed away and does not have an estate. Motion by Ohlrogge, seconded by S. Larson, to declare these bills uncollectible and to release any liens associated with them. All ayes. Motion carried.

Motion by S. Larson, seconded by Ohlrogge, to pay the following bills. All ayes. Motion carried.

South Dakota Association of County Officials, Mod and Preservation $104.00

State Treasurer, Monthly Remittance $45,463.57

South Dakota State University – Department of Animal Sciences, Redbooks $156.25

A-Ox Welding, Cylinders $19.75

Alco Pro, Supplies $580.00

SYNCB/Amazon, Supplies $884.28

Bound Tree Medical, Supplies $63.28

Brooks Oil Company, Fuel $5,452.38

Lynn Brueske, Supplies $98.05

Brule County Sheriff, Prisoner Care $660.00

Central Electric Co-op, Electricity $272.25

Stephen Davis, Conference Expense $581.92

Dawson Construction, Garbage $240.30

Double D, Cab Door Glass $65.00

Express 2, Fuel $85.35

Farnams Truck Parts, Supplies $14.29

Farnams Genuine Parts Inc., Supplies $200.72

Feistner Gravel & Excavation, Ditch Work $5,000.00

Wayne Feistner, Rock $3,900.00

First National Bank, Supplies $6.38

Growmark Inc., Oil $422.95

Heinemann Restoration, Flashing Repairs $2,500.00

Hillyard, Supplies $35.60

John Deere Financial, Supplies $92.52

KO’s, Oil Change $74.15

Lake County Sheriff, Prisoner Care $1,725.00

Alan Larson Jr., Registration Fee $25.00

Diane Larson, Travel Expense $164.56

Heath Larson, Registration Fee $25.00

Lifequest, Quarterly Support $1,875.00

Local Lumber Co., Supplies $124.42

Mid American Research Chemical, Supplies $100.96

Maschino Wood Floors Inc., Repair Floor $9,385.00

Minnehaha County Auditor, Mental Illness $293.00

Mumford & Protsch, Court Appointed Attorney Fees $2,509.30

NorthWestern Energy, Electricity $1,176.00

Office Peeps Inc., Supplies $882.24

Physicians Claim Company, Monthly Fees $796.99

Ramkota Hotel, Motel Expense $308.00

Barbara Regynski, Travel Expense $46.00

SAGA Communications, Publication Fees $3,306.00

Santel Communications, Phone & Internet $1,094.48

South Dakota Association of Assessing Officers, Dues $75.00

Sanborn Weekly Journal, Subscription $41.00

TMA, Tires $575.00

Tobins Transfer, Move Auditor’s Office $750.00

Ron J. Volesky, Court Appointed Attorney Fees $522.50

Waste Management, Garbage $192.00

David K. Wheeler, Court Appointed Attorney Fees $225.67

Woonsocket Fire Department, Jaws of Life $10,000.00

Woony Foods, Supplies $99.30

Xcel, Electricity $34.57

There being no further business, motion by Blindauer, seconded by Ohlrogge, to adjourn the meeting. All ayes. Motion carried. The next regularly scheduled meeting is Tuesday, December 3, 2019.   

Diane Larson

Sanborn County Auditor

Jeff Ebersdorfer

Chairman of the Board, 

Sanborn County

Comments are closed.