Pictured, left to right, are: back row, Jim Davis, Mark Snedeker, Chairman of the Sanborn County Conservation District, and Kent Vlieger, NRCS District Conservationist for Sanborn County; front row, Julie Davis, Bernie Davis, Jack Davis and John Davis.

The Sanborn County Conservation District nominated the Davis Ranch to the South Dakota Conservation Commission for Award Winning Soil Conservation Farm/Ranch.
The Davis Ranch is deserving of this award because of their extensive management. Their grasslands are managed for sustainable productivity by their measures in cross fencing and the installment of solar pumps, pipes, tanks and wells. They are also taking expired CRP and turning it into grasslands for grazing. They have a no-till crop rotation and utilize cover crops to enhance soil stability.
The extensive management practices that the Davis Ranch has had in place for the last five generations make them well deserving of the South Dakota Conservation Award.
The Sanborn County Conservation District Board, along with Kent Vlieger, NRCS District Conservationist for Sanborn County, presented the award to the Davis Family.

Build Dakota Scholarships were announced by the Build Dakota Scholarship Board for the 2017-18 school year. These 285 scholarships cover tuition, fees, books, equipment and other expenses for eligible programs within eight high-need industry areas at the four South Dakota technical institutes.
Recipients were selected from a total of 1,028 applications and are enrolled full-time, must complete their educational program on schedule, and stay in South Dakota to work in their field of study for three years following graduation.
Sanborn County recipients of the scholarship include: Lydian Groon of Forestburg, Lake Area Technical Institute; Byron Jessen of Woonsocket, Mitchell Technical Institute; and Todd Peterson of Forestburg, Mitchell Technical Institute.

FESTIVAL ORGANIZERS made sure there was ample room for cars after the flood of over 60 car show entries last year. This helped provide space for the approximately 90 that were entered this year. Photo Courtesy of Deb Senska.

The town of Forestburg held another successful Melon Festival on Saturday, Aug. 19, to help raise money for their road funds.
This year, the car show had close to 90 entries, with participants coming from all over the state.
A bean bag tournament was held, which was won by Tim Pearson and Patrick Bender, both of Artesian. Tim Pearson also won the 50/50 drawing, and generously donated a portion of it back to the road fund.
Attendees participated in a silent auction, also, and children enjoyed playing in a bouncy house, along with games set up by Union Farmhand 4-H Club members.

…To read the car show results and see more pictures from the Melon Festival, pick up this week’s issue of the Sanborn Weekly Journal!