Area News

Charles Hunter presents a talk on hunting safely.

The Town ‘N Kountry Kids Red Crew 4-H Club met on Sept. 17 at the Community Center in Woonsocket.
The meeting was called to order by Vice President Xavier Baysinger. The flag pledge was led by Anna Hunter and the 4-H pledge was led by Henry Hunter. Roll call was led by Hope Baysinger with the question, “What was your favorite State Fair 4-H project?”, which was answered by nine members.
The secretary’s report was read by Secretary Spens Schlicht and approved as read. The treasurer’s report was given by Xavier and approved.
Lane Burkel gave a report on his participation at Achievement Days and Hope reported on her participation at the State Fair.
Under new business, the members talked about getting record books done. They also discussed ideas for celebrating National 4-H Week.
Following the meeting, Charles Hunter presented a talk on his hunting and safety experience.
The next meetings are planned for Sept. 18 and 23.

Union Farmhands 4-H Club meets

By Secretary Sawyer Senska

The Union Farmhands met Aug. 19 at the Forestburg Melon Festival. The club members set up a ring toss game and a guessing game.
Many kids enjoyed the games along with the candy prizes. Members present were, pictured left to right: Sawyer Senska, Austin Schmit, Aubrey Senska, Katie Schmit and Catherine Bechen.

Build Dakota Scholarships were announced by the Build Dakota Scholarship Board for the 2017-18 school year. These 285 scholarships cover tuition, fees, books, equipment and other expenses for eligible programs within eight high-need industry areas at the four South Dakota technical institutes.
Recipients were selected from a total of 1,028 applications and are enrolled full-time, must complete their educational program on schedule, and stay in South Dakota to work in their field of study for three years following graduation.
Sanborn County recipients of the scholarship include: Lydian Groon of Forestburg, Lake Area Technical Institute; Byron Jessen of Woonsocket, Mitchell Technical Institute; and Todd Peterson of Forestburg, Mitchell Technical Institute.