Around the County

This year’s Beadle County Relay for Life is joining forces with Sanborn and Jerauld Counties to make this year’s Relay for Life in our area even better. On Sunday, July 28, the Relay for Life will take place around Lake Prior in Woonsocket. Survivor registration is from 4-5:30 p.m. on the day of the event. The Relay for Life will start at 5 p.m. with the dinner, and it will end with closing ceremonies at 10 p.m. There will be guest speakers and entertainment throughout the event. Unfortunately, by now, we all know too many people who are affected by or have passed away from this disease. Please join the American Cancer Society and the team of people who organize the Relay for Life and help support the fight against cancer.

The huge amounts of precipitation the area has received have been causing a lot of problems for home owners, city workers, baseball players… well, everyone. Many are fighting water in their basements, sewer systems are overflowing, and summer activities are all being postponed or put on hold. 

…See a picture in this week’s issue of the Sanborn Weekly Journal.

MITCHELL — Dakota Wesleyan University students were honored recently at the 2018-19 Honors Banquet held on campus. 

Students were recognized for honors in scholarship and for active participation in a variety of campus clubs or events. In addition, alumni medals were presented to outstanding students in various academic departments. 

…Read about all the local students who were honored in this week’s issue of the Sanborn Weekly Journal!