Woonsocket has two youth softball teams this summer. Both play in the slow-pitch league in Huron. They have a 10U team that plays on Monday nights and a 14U team that plays on Tuesday nights. Last week was their first week of play, where the 10U teams won both games they played on Monday night. The 14U team played two hard-fought games to the 55-minute time limit and lost their first one in the last at bat by one run with a score of 20-21 and their second game by two runs with a final score of 18-20. 

…See pictures in this week’s issue of the Sanborn Weekly Journal!

The second regional rodeo in Watertown was held this past weekend.

Mason Moody of Letcher won bull riding and was sixth in calf roping. Sunday, he won bull riding, placed second in team roping and earned fifth in calf roping. He also won the Reserve All Around for the weekend.

State High School Finals will take place this week in Ft. Pierre. Mason will ride bulls and calf rope Thursday morning at 9 a.m. and Friday at 5 p.m. He will team rope Thursday night at 5 p.m. and Friday morning at 9 a.m. The short go will take place Saturday at 4 p.m.

Also, Aubrey Moody of Letcher will attend the National Junior High Rodeo next week in Des Moines, Iowa. She will be competing in goat tying.

…See a photo in this week’s issue of the Sanborn Weekly Journal!

Sacred Hoops is a basketball program that holds camps and traveling basketball programs for players to continue to work on their skills and improve on their abilities in the off-season. According to their website, their mission is “To teach the game of basketball, the game of life, and provide multiple opportunities for the youth and those who work with the youth in South Dakota and surrounding states.” They work with kids in grades five through 12. Sacred Hoops is centered out of Sioux Falls for the eastern portion of the state.

For the first time, the Sanborn Central/Woonsocket Blackhawks were fortunate enough to have Allan Bertram, head girls’ basketball coach at Rapid City Central High School, come and put on a clinic for both the girls’ and boys’ basketball teams in Woonsocket last week. Bertram is a co-founder of the Sacred Hoops organization and coaches traveling teams while putting on clinics like the one held for the Blackhawks.

…Read on and see pictures in this week’s issue of the Sanborn Weekly Journal!

  • Weather

    June 20, 2021, 2:32 am
    real feel: 62°F
    humidity: 65%
    wind speed: 4 mph S
    wind gusts: 9 mph
  • Upcoming Events

    June 2021
    Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
    May 30, 2021 May 31, 2021 June 1, 2021 June 2, 2021 June 3, 2021 June 4, 2021 June 5, 2021
    June 6, 2021 June 7, 2021 June 8, 2021 June 9, 2021 June 10, 2021 June 11, 2021 June 12, 2021
    June 13, 2021 June 14, 2021 June 15, 2021 June 16, 2021 June 17, 2021 June 18, 2021 June 19, 2021
    June 20, 2021 June 21, 2021 June 22, 2021 June 23, 2021 June 24, 2021 June 25, 2021 June 26, 2021
    June 27, 2021 June 28, 2021 June 29, 2021 June 30, 2021 July 1, 2021 July 2, 2021 July 3, 2021
  • Recent Posts

  • Contact Us

    Ph/Fax: 605.796.4221

    PO BOX 218
    Woonsocket, SD 57385
  • Archives