Winners of the Sanborn County Cancer Tournament for the boys part of the tournament were the SCW Blackhawks. Pictured are the members of the championship team, front row, left to right: Grant Edwards, Brendan Evans, Tanner Christian, Teagen Moody, Oscar Anderson, Sawyer Treib, Landon Jensen, Eli White, Payton Uecker, Bryce Larson and Gage Hines; back row: Coach Mitch Korbel, Rylan Grassel, Caleb Kneen, Parker Ettswold, Tyler Brueske, Alex Schelske, Kade Olinger, Sutton Senska, McCoy Schulz, Sebastian Kotilinek, Evan Easton and Coach Matt Henriksen. Additional pictures of the tournament can be found in this week’s issue of the Sanborn Weekly Journal.

The Sanborn County Cancer Society will hold its annual Cancer Tournament this weekend for the fifth and sixth grade boys and girls basketball teams. The four teams competing this year are Ethan, Wessington Springs, Mt. Vernon/Plankinton and SCW. This year the boys will play first starting with SCW vs. Ethan, and the rest of the boys’ games will follow. The girls will start at approximately noon, and the first game will be SCW vs. Mt. Vernon/Plankinton, with the rest of the girls’ games to follow. The girls are coached by Emily Henriksen and Shannon VanHeerden, and the boys’ coaches are Matt Henriksen and Mitch Korbel. 

…Read on and see pictures of the fifth and sixth grade basketball players in this week’s issue of the Sanborn Weekly Journal!

Dayton Easton was selected by the South Dakota High School Activities Association to perform the National Anthem at the State Football Championships on Saturday, Nov. 10, at the Dome in Vermillion.  She will be representing Sanborn Central school and singing for the evening session that is scheduled to be played at 7:30 p.m. The game as well as Easton’s performance will be aired live on PBS tv and