Sanborn County Commissioners proceedings

AUGUST 15, 2017

Sanborn County Commissioners met in regular session on Tuesday, August 15, 2017, at 9:00 a.m. with Chairman Ebersdorfer presiding. Other members present were: Ohlrogge, Blindauer, and P. Larson. Absent was S. Larson. Also present was Auditor Larson. Motion by P. Larson, seconded by Blindauer, to approve the minutes as presented. All ayes. Motion carried.
Lee Goergen, Highway Superintendent/Weed Supervisor, and Sheri Kogel, Administrative Assistant, met with the board. Goergen presented a Bridge Improvement Grant – Funding Agreement. Motion by Ohlrogge, seconded by P. Larson to approve the agreement. All ayes. Motion carried. Kogel explained the Five-Year Plan to the Board. Motion by Blindauer, seconded by P. Larson, to approve the Five-Year County Highway and Bridge Improvement Plan to present to the public. All ayes. Motion carried. A public meeting will be held on September 5th at 8:50 a.m.
Penny Farris, Director of Equalization, met with the board and presented a resolution for solar panel regulation. Motion by Ohlrogge, seconded by P. Larson, to adopt the following resolution.
Whereas Sanborn County Zoning Ordinance, Specifically Section 1721 regulates construction activities within the County, Incorporated, and Unincorporated municipalities via building permits;
Whereas Section 1721 requires Building Permits for the following activities:
• Any structure or building in which the structure or building is erected, partially erected, moved, added to, or structurally altered;
• Any structure or building in which the use for that structure or building is significantly changed;
• Any structure or building, regardless of cost, if additional land or area is required for the improvements to be sited on; or
• Any privacy or opaque fence constructed within the cities or towns; and
Whereas certain construction activities are exempted from obtaining a building permit to include;
• Remodeling, improvements, or maintenance provided such activity does not include structural alterations or require additional land or space;
• Concrete slabs on grade;
• Fences, corrals, and windbreaks pursuant to Section 719;
• Semi-portable agricultural structures; and
• A (one) one hundred twenty (120) square foot accessory building without a sub-grade foundation; and
Whereas the Board of Commissioners recognize the importance of Sanborn County Ordinance Section 1721 in regulating construction activities within the County; and
Whereas the Board of Commissioners intent in drafting this resolution is to allow for a comprehensive policy regulating structures of one hundred twenty square (120) feet while complying with the intent of Section 1721; and
Now Therefore be it Resolved by the Sanborn County Commission that all buildings and structures of one hundred twenty (120) square feet or less shall be exempt from building permits.
Be it Further Resolved that henceforth structures exempt from obtaining a building permit, provided lot sizes and setbacks are complied with, include but are not limited to buildings, water tanks, solar panels, and pump houses.
Dated this 15th day of August, 2017
Jeff Ebersdorfer
Diane Larson
All ayes. Motion carried.
A plat was presented for Charlotte Nicholson for Lot 1 of Nicholson First Addition SE/4 30-105-59. Motion by P. Larson, seconded by Ohlrogge, to approve the plat. All ayes. Motion carried.
Hearing no objections, motion by P. Larson, seconded by Blindauer, to approve the temporary liquor license for the Forestburg Melon Festival on August 19th at no cost. All ayes. Motion carried.
Motion by Ohlrogge, seconded by Blindauer, to forgive an ambulance bill for Clinton Gerleman for $25.00. The insurance has paid all but $25.00 and Gerleman is deceased. All ayes. Motion carried.
Alaina Henning, Victims Assistant, met with the board to introduce herself and explain the aspects of her position.
Auditor and Treasurer in all accounts $3,799, 467.33
Motion by Ohlrogge, seconded by P. Larson, to pay the following bills. All ayes. Motion carried.
First National Bank, Tax Liability $2,059.27
Grand Jury, Wages $454.60
Alpena Fire Department, Fire Insurance Premium $388.29
Artesian Fire Department, Fire Insurance Premium $3,763.52
Carthage Fire Department, Fire Insurance Premium $565.23
Letcher Fire Department, Fire Insurance Premium $4,279.15
T&C Fire Department, Fire Insurance Premium $5,941.07
SDACO, Mod & Preservation $54.00
State Treasurer, Monthly Remittance $48,597.41
A&B Business Solutions, Supplies $342.86
A-Ox Welding Supply Co Inc., Cylinders $55.31
AmeriPride Services Inc., Mats, Mops, Towels $98.61
Asphalt Paving & Materials Co., Paverlaid Patches $203,903.01
AT&T Mobility, Cell Phone $75.33
Beck Ace Hardware, Supplies $24.98
Boyer Ford Trucks, Pump $751.72
Brown & Saenger, Supplies $1,157.89
Butler Machinery Co., Repairs $793.60
Centennial Carpet Inc., Carpet $847.95
Central Electric Cooperative, Electricity $291.57
William Cummins, Install Stool $47.69
Dakota Two Way, Supplies $1,732.00
Davison County Sheriff Office, Prisoner Care $95.00
Dawson Construction Inc., Garbage $230.99
Department of Revenue, Blood Alcohol Tests $280.00
ESRI, GIS Maintenance $400.00
Farnams Genuine Parts, Supplies $409.84
Fastenal Company, Supplies $499.74
Marie H Fawcett, Court Reporter, Grand Jury Transcript $19.00
First National Bank Omaha, Supplies $596.40
GIS Workshop, Annual Maintenance $1,545.00
Total Funds by Hasler, Postage $1,000.00
Joint Munitions Command, Shipping $109.68
KO’s, Oil Change $64.65
Jean Kouch, Interpreters Fee $67.66
Karen Krueger, Supplies $100.00
Lynn Peavey Company, Supplies $79.55
Menard’s, Supplies $38.23
Modern Marketing, Supplies $108.77
Kathy Nelson, Sew on Patches $50.00
Physicians Claims Company, Ambulance Service Fee $501.74
Santel Communications, Phone/Internet $1,118.22
Sanborn Weekly Journal, Publications Fees $271.50
SD Counties, Registration $525.00
SD Department of Transportation, 20 Percent Share $66.48
Travis Coulthard, Replace Lights $79.49
The Road Guy Construction, Seal Coat $189,800.00
United Laboratories, Supplies $393.98
Ron J. Volesky, Court Appointed Attorney $2,698.50
Waste Management, Garbage $302.67
Woony Foods, Supplies $2.59
X-Cel Energy, Electricity $46.35
There being no further business, motion by P. Larson, seconded by Blindauer, to adjourn the meeting. All ayes. Motion carried.
The next regularly scheduled meeting will be September 5, 2017.
Diane Larson
Sanborn County Auditor
Jeff Ebersdorfer
Chairman, Sanborn
County Commissioners
Published once at the approximate cost of $73.00.

Comments are closed.

  • Weather

    Failure notice from provider:
    Connection Error:http_request_failed
  • Upcoming Events

    July 2024
    Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
    June 30, 2024 July 1, 2024 July 2, 2024 July 3, 2024 July 4, 2024 July 5, 2024 July 6, 2024
    July 7, 2024 July 8, 2024 July 9, 2024 July 10, 2024 July 11, 2024 July 12, 2024 July 13, 2024
    July 14, 2024 July 15, 2024 July 16, 2024 July 17, 2024 July 18, 2024 July 19, 2024 July 20, 2024
    July 21, 2024 July 22, 2024 July 23, 2024 July 24, 2024 July 25, 2024 July 26, 2024 July 27, 2024
    July 28, 2024 July 29, 2024 July 30, 2024 July 31, 2024 August 1, 2024 August 2, 2024 August 3, 2024
  • Recent Posts

  • Contact Us

    Ph/Fax: 605.796.4221

    PO BOX 218
    Woonsocket, SD 57385
  • Archives