PIERRE – Gov. Dennis Daugaard announced recently that he will appoint Kent A. Shelton of Huron as a circuit court judge in South Dakota’s Third Circuit Court.

“I thank Kent Shelton for taking on this important role as circuit judge,” said Gov. Daugaard. “Kent is a respected member of the bar and a well-known member of the Huron community. He will do an excellent job.”

Shelton has been in the private practice of law in Huron since 1990, and is a partner in the Churchill, Manolis, Freeman, Kludt, Shelton and Burns law firm. Shelton has a general practice that includes criminal defense, family law, real estate and property, estate planning and corporate law.

“I am honored to have been selected to serve my community and state as their circuit court judge,” said Shelton. “I have always respected the judges and their decisions and will maintain the honor that goes with the position.”

Shelton is a lifelong native of Huron. He graduated from the University of Montana with a bachelor’s degree in 1986 and a law degree in 1989. Shelton has served as chairman of the Huron College Endowment Fund and on the boards of directors of the Huron Chamber of Commerce, the Beadle County Humane Society and the Cornerstones Career Learning Center.

Shelton and his wife, Laurie, have three daughters and three grandchildren. He will succeed Judge Jon Erickson, who is retiring in June. The Third Circuit includes Beadle, Brookings, Clark, Codington, Deuel, Kingsbury, Grant, Hamlin, Hand, Jerauld, Lake, Miner, Moody and Sanborn counties.

Students at Sanborn Central have been successful in their pursuit of obtaining scholarships to technical schools through the generous scholarship fund established by T. Denny Sanford.  This year, two Sanborn Central graduates received full-ride scholarships from Mitchell Technical Institute in separate areas: Weston Baysinger, who will pursue a degree in welding, and Koby Larson, who will pursue a degree in telecommunications.  They will begin their degree programs this fall.

This opportunity has been made possible by T. Denny Sanford.   The Build Dakota Scholarship is a highly competitive full ride scholarship offered to the best and the brightest students attending a South Dakota technical institution entering high need workforce areas. The scholarship pays for not only tuition, but also fees, books, tools, laptops, and any other requirements for the program equaling a possibility of $24,000. 

…See a picture in this week’s issue of the Sanborn Weekly Journal.

The SCSF is pleased to announce that each of the 2018 Sanborn Central graduates who have attended Sanborn Central for at least seven years will  receive a full scholarship in the amount of $2,800 from the Dennis Ross “GOAL – Get On And Learn” and the Tanna Kingsbury “Believe” Scholarships, to be used to further their education at any accredited institution. Those attending Sanborn Central for less than seven years will receive a pro-rated amount of the full scholarship.

The Foundation would like to thank those who continue to send memorials and donations so that scholarship awards can keep increasing to help graduates pursue their dreams. Currently, there is $400,000 in a perpetual fund within the South Dakota Community Foundation in Pierre, and the scholarships are funded by the interest earned on this fund.  Congratulations, graduates, and good luck!