Sanborn County Commissioners proceedings

JUNE 8, 2018

Sanborn County Commissioners met in regular session on Friday, June 8, 2018, at 9:00 a.m. with Chairman Ebersdorfer presiding. Other members present were: Ohlrogge, Blindauer, S. Larson, and P. Larson. Also present was Auditor Larson. Motion by S. Larson, seconded by Ohlrogge, to approve the minutes as presented.  All ayes.  Motion carried. 


Terry Zell, Legislative Auditor, met with the board for his opening remarks for the 2018 audit.  


Auditor Larson presented an Application for Occupancy on The Right of Way of County Highways for the 2018 Letcher Project from Santel Communications Cooperative. Motion by P. Larson, seconded by S. Larson, to approve the application. All ayes. Motion carried.


The board canvased the vote for the 2018 Primary Election.  

Ohlrogge left the meeting at 9:45 a.m.


Motion by Blindauer, seconded by P. Larson, to approve a one-day alcoholic beverage license for the Forestburg Melon Festival on August 18. All ayes. Motion carried.


Auditor Larson presented a hospital bill for indigent #17-4. Motion by Blindauer, seconded by P. Larson, to pay Sanford Medical Center the Medicaid rate of $3,454.46. All ayes. Motion carried


Motion by P. Larson, seconded by S. Larson, to enter executive session to discuss personnel.  Chairman Ebersdorfer declared an end to executive session at 10:40 a.m. 

Ohlrogge returned to the meeting at 11:00 a.m.


Motion by S. Larson, seconded by Ohlrogge, to join Planning & Development District III for the year 2019 for dues in the amount of $11,026. All ayes. Motion carried.


Susan Johannsen, Clerk of Courts, met with the board to discuss the speaker system in the court room. Judge Pardy has requested an upgrade to the system.  Law Library money may be used to pay for part of the system. Motion by S. Larson, seconded by P. Larson, to approve the upgrade. All ayes. Motion carried.


Auditor & Treasurer in all accounts $4,297,013.30 

Register of Deeds $1,980.50

Motion by Ohlrogge, seconded by S. Larson, to pay the following bills. All ayes. Motion carried.

Avera Health Plan, Insurance $20,991.45

AFLAC, Insurance $1,294.54

AFLAC, Insurance $260.70

SD Retirement System, Retirement $7,686.76

SD Retirement System, Retirement $43.06

Small Business, Insurance $51.00

Sanborn County Treasurer, Real Estate Taxes $354.12

Sun Life Financial, Insurance $241.48

VSP, Insurance $212.41

EMC National Life, Insurance $438.45

First National Bank, Tax Liability $12,099.69

EMC National Life, Insurance $47.25

SD Retirement System, Special Pay Plan $45.00

SD Retirement System, Vacation & Sick Leave Payoff $1,956.78

Sanborn County Treasurer, Taxes in Trust $1,302.24

Office of Child Support, Wage Garnish $240.00

Accounts Management Incorporated, Wage Garnish $278.69

First National Bank, Tax Liability $2,301.19

A-Ox Welding, Cylinders $143.55

AmeriPride, Mats, Mops, Towels, etc $201.05

AT&T Mobility, Air Cards $134.41

Beadle County Sheriff, Prisoner Care $1,680.00

Beck Ace Hardware, Supplies $26.53

Brooks Oil Company, Fuel $14,552.36

Brown & Saenger, Supplies $580.51

Campbell Supply Co., Supplies $56.47

Central Electric Cooperative, Electricity $240.58

Commercial Asphalt, Patching Oil Roads $155,665.52

Crop Production Services Inc., Grazon $11,570.00

Dakota Fire Equipment Co., Supplies $618.25

Davison County Sheriff Office, Prisoner Care $285.00

DS Solutions, Election Supplies $175.00

Express 2, Fuel/Supplies $91.42

Express Stop, Fuel $112.84

Farnams Genuine Parts, Supplies $659.78

Penny Farris, Travel Expense $266.75

First National Bank Omaha, Supplies $428.03

Forestburg Well Company, Water Rent $200.00

GCR Tire Centers, Tires $1,091.75

Harvey W. Staffen, Gravel $8,915.00

Highway Improvement Inc., Crack Sealing $18,480.00

KO’s, Oil Change/Rotate Tires $108.65

Larson & Nipe, Office Expense $1,000.00

Local Lumber Co., Supplies $22.35

Lynn Peavey Company, Supplies $77.75

Ginger Manke, Mileage $10.92

McLeods Printing & Supply, Permanent Tax Books $197.98

Medtox Diagnostics Inc., Supplies $216.29

Miner County Auditor, E-911 Services $12,500.00

Mumford & Protsch LLP, Court Appointed Attorney Fees $303.60

NorthWestern Energy, Electricity $1,161.08

Office Peeps, Supplies $221.71

Ramkota Hotel, Travel Expense $407.96

Michael Rankin, Repair Door $89.29

Sherryl Rankin, Supplies/Travel Expense $26.85

Runnings Supply, Supplies $309.99

Sanborn County Ambulance, Meals $25.41

Sanborn County Treasurer, License Plate $6.20

Santel Communications, Phone and Internet $2,708.59

Sanford USD Medical Center, Indigent Hospital Care $3,454.46

South Dakota ORH/Emergency Medical Services, Ambulance License $12.00

SD State Treasurer, Unclaimed Taxes $192.65

Skeeters, Meals $39.38

Spencer Quarries, Rock $253.94

Sanborn Weekly Journal, Publication Fees $196.35

The Lodge at Deadwood, Motel Expense $474.00

True North Steel Inc., Blades/Culverts $3,414.25

Waste Management, Garbage $318.81

Woony Foods, Supplies $128.78

May payroll before deductions:

Commissioners $3,025.00

Auditor $5,187.48

Treasurer $5,307.48

States Attorney $3,621.96

Courthouse $3,406.85

Assessor $5,552.54

Register of Deeds $6,712.54

Sheriff $11,935.80

Nurse $1,124.35

Ambulance $1,790.00

WIC $50.85

Extension Office $1,307.98

Weed Salary $1,300.00

Drainage $180.00

Road and Bridge $27,079.35

Emergency Management $496.44

Sobriety Testing $150.00

There being no further business, motion by S. Larson, seconded by Ohlrogge, to adjourn the meeting.  All ayes. Motion carried. The next regularly scheduled meeting is Tuesday, June 19, 2018.

Diane Larson

Sanborn County Auditor

Jeff Ebersdorfer

Chairman of the Board, 

Sanborn County


Comments are closed.