Sanborn Central / Woonsocket FFA Banquet held

On Monday, April 26, the Sanborn Central/Woonsocket FFA Chapter held their annual Chapter Banquet. The night included a potluck meal, a keynote address from Dirby Bawek, the 2020-2021 State FFA Reporter, and highlights of chapter members’ accomplishments over the last year.

The Greenhand FFA degree is awarded to members once they have completed their first year of membership. To qualify for this degree, they must be enrolled in agricultural education, have satisfactory plans for a supervised agricultural experience program, learn and explain the FFA Creed, and demonstrate knowledge of the organization and proper use of the FFA jacket. The Greenhand FFA degree was awarded to seven members: Jaycee Baruth, Dilyn Brooks, Keaton Fridley, Aubrey Senska, Cody Slykhuis, Megann Walz and Kara Wormstadt. The Star Greenhand Degree Recipient award was given to Jaycee Baruth.

The Chapter FFA Degree is awarded to members that have met the following qualifications; completed two years of agricultural education, have in operation an approved supervised agricultural experience program and be enrolled in an agricultural course. The Chapter Degree was awarded to nine members: Casady Dean, Kailynn Eggleston, Ellie Evans, Bailey Feistner, Kenlie Fridley, Averie Johnson, Brooklyn Johnson, Brady Larson and Madison Schmiedt. The Star Chapter Degree Recipient award was given to Brady Larson and Jaycee Baruth.

The Honorary Chapter Degree is given to members of the community for their contributions to the Chapter. This year’s recipients of the Honorary Chapter Degree were The Forestburg Farmers Elevator, Mr. Justin Siemsen, and Jessica Korzeniewski (formerly Jessica Ronning, past SCW FFA Advisor).

The Outstanding Senior award is given to someone who has exhibited immense passion, dedication, leadership, and strength. They are someone who has been involved in various aspects of the organization over the course of their FFA career and has been a great role model for underclassmen. Morgan Schmiedt was the recipient of the Outstanding Senior award.

The Outstanding Member award is chosen from all chapter members for being incredibly driven, a true team player, and has shown initiative to get involved in agricultural education and FFA, as well as encouraging others to do so, too. Dilyn Brooks was the recipient of the Outstanding Member award.

The new chapter officer team was elected during the banquet and were sworn into their new respective positions. The 2021-2022 SCW FFA Chapter officer team is: President Malorie Mattke, Vice President Dilyn Brooks, Secretary Bailey Feistner, Treasurer Ellie Evans, Reporter Casady Dean, Sentinel Brady Larson, Parliamentarian Brooklyn Johnson, and Historian Cody Slykhuis.

…See a photo in this week’s issue of the Sanborn Weekly Journal!

Comments are closed.

  • Weather

    March 23, 2023, 12:58 pm
    Partly sunny
    real feel: 47°F
    humidity: 66%
    wind speed: 2 mph NW
    wind gusts: 2 mph
  • Upcoming Events

    March 2023
    Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
    February 26, 2023 February 27, 2023 February 28, 2023 March 1, 2023 March 2, 2023 March 3, 2023 March 4, 2023
    March 5, 2023 March 6, 2023 March 7, 2023 March 8, 2023 March 9, 2023 March 10, 2023 March 11, 2023
    March 12, 2023 March 13, 2023 March 14, 2023 March 15, 2023 March 16, 2023 March 17, 2023 March 18, 2023
    March 19, 2023 March 20, 2023 March 21, 2023 March 22, 2023 March 23, 2023 March 24, 2023 March 25, 2023
    March 26, 2023 March 27, 2023 March 28, 2023 March 29, 2023 March 30, 2023 March 31, 2023 April 1, 2023
  • Recent Posts

  • Contact Us

    Ph/Fax: 605.796.4221

    PO BOX 218
    Woonsocket, SD 57385
  • Archives