Public Notices

Artesian Town Board proceedings

Unapproved Minutes - October 3, 2018

The Town of Artesian Council met on October 3, 2018, in regular session at the Artesian Community Center. Council Member K. Effling called the meeting to order with Council Member C. Danek, Council Member Travis King and Finance Officer G. Effling present. Also present were Tom Fridley and Rich Danek.

The minutes of the September 5th, 2018, meeting were read, motion to approve by Danek; seconded by King, motion carried. 

The financial reports were read; motion to approve by Danek, seconded by King; motion carried. 

The following vouchers were presented for the month; motion to approve by Danek, seconded by King; motion carried:

South Dakota Department of Revenue – $150.00

USDA – $1,116.00

Xcel Energy –  $998.47

Artesian Fire Department – $125.00

Benders – $1,883.50

Candace Danek – $125.00

Dawson Construction Inc. – $947.66

Gwen Effling – $500.00

Kurt Effling – $120.00

Farmers Elevator – $189.25

Tom Fridley – $294.00

Travis King – $80.00

Harvey Staffen – $3,450.00

Susan Richard – $40.00

Town of Artesian – $147.71

Weber Backhoe and Trenching – $7,653.08

Old Business: 

Streets – There was a discussion on gravel placement in city streets.

Sewer/Garbage – The council reviewed billings. Discussion was held on sewer/lagoon. 

Park – The council discussed on winterizing. 

New Business: 

The council discussed burning abandoned structures, prepaying propane for winter, and the South Dakota Municipal League review. Motion by Danek, seconded by King, to approve the liquor license for the Long Branch Bar; motion carried.

Motion by Danek, seconded by King, to have the Town of Artesian cover work compensation for the Artesian Volunteer Fire Department, provided they supply the city with an updated current listing of the volunteer fire personnel.

There was discussion on the progress of the Sewer Ordinance that is being prepared.

Discussion was held on selling city owned vacant lots.  

There being no further business brought before the council, meeting adjourned. The next regular meeting is scheduled for November 7, 2018, at the Artesian Community Center at 7:30 p.m.

Gwen Effling

Town of Artesian, 

Finance Officer

Kurt Effling

Council Member

Voter registration for the General Election to be held on November 6, 2018, will close on October 22, 2018. Failure to register by this date will cause forfeiture of voting rights for this election. If you are in doubt about whether you are registered, check the Voter Information Portal at or call the county auditor at 605-796-4513.

Registration may be completed during regular business hours at the county auditor’s office, municipal finance office, secretary of state’s office, and those locations which provide driver’s licenses, SNAP, TANF, WIC, military recruitment, and assistance to the disabled as provided by the Department of Human Services. You may contact the county auditor to request a mail-in registration form or access a mail-in form at

Voters with disabilities may contact the county auditor for information and special assistance in voter registration, absentee voting, or polling place accessibility.

Diane Larson, 


Sanborn County, 

South Dakota

Notice is hereby given that a public hearing will be held before the Sanborn County Commissioners acting as Board of Adjustment at 10:15 a.m. on October 16, 2018, in the Commissioners room, second floor of the Sanborn County courthouse in Woonsocket for a Variance request.

The meeting is to discuss a variance regarding Section 513, Minimum Lot Requirement. The variance request is for a minimal lot area of less than ten (10) acres for Cross Outlot 1 in SE/4 28-106-62. Sanborn County Zoning Ordinance requires a minimal lot area of ten (10) acres.

All interested parties are encouraged to attend this hearing.

Should you have any questions, please call our office at 605.796.4514.

If the meeting is postponed for any reason, it will be held at the Commissioner’s next regularly scheduled meeting.

Penny Farris

Zoning Administrator

Sanborn County