Sanborn County Commissioners proceedings

JULY 16, 2019

Sanborn County Commissioners met in regular session on Tuesday, July 16, 2019, at 9:00 a.m. with Chairman Jeff Ebersdorfer presiding. Other members present were: Steve Larson, Ray Ohlrogge, Gary Blindauer, and Paul Larson. Also present was Auditor Diane Larson. Motion by P. Larson, seconded by S. Larson, to approve the minutes as presented. All ayes. Motion carried. 


Tony Austerman met with the board with concerns about the conditions of the roads in Afton Township.  Many options were discussed.  


Stacy Mendenhall, Highway Superintendent, and Sheri Kogel, Administrative Assistant, met with the board. Contractors will be contacted for quotes on projects that are approved for FEMA funds.  The county share will be 15 percent, the state share will be 10 percent, and the federal share will be 75 percent. Motion by Blindauer, seconded by P. Larson, to pass the following resolution:


WHEREAS, Sanborn County wishes to submit an application for consideration of award for the Bridge Improvement Grant Program


56-030-025, 7.5 Miles North of Woonsocket, South Dakota

56-200-153, 0.5 Miles West and 2.3 Miles South of Artesian, South Dakota

and WHEREAS, Sanborn County certifies that the projects are listed on the county’s Five-Year County Highway and Bridge Improvement Plan;

and WHEREAS Sanborn County agrees to pay the 20 percent match on the Bridge Improvement Grant funds;

and WHEREAS, Sanborn County hereby authorizes the Bridge Improvement Grant application and any required funding commitments.


That the South Dakota Department of Transportation be and hereby is requested to accept the attached Bridge Improvement Grant application. 

Vote of Commissioners/Council: Yes 5, No 0

Dated at Woonsocket, S.D., this 16th day of July, 2019.


Diane Larson

County Auditor

Jeff Ebersdorfer



Penny Farris, Director of Equalization, met with the board. A problem with the way the soil survey was programed in the computer was discovered. Farris will be sending taxpayers a notice of the changes.    


Motion by P. Larson, seconded by Ohlrogge, to approve the temporary liquor license for the Watermelon Festival to be held in Forestburg on August 17 at no charge. All ayes. Motion carried.


Budgets from the different departments were reviewed.  More reviewing will be done at the August 6th meeting.


Auditor and Treasurer in all accounts $3,121,319.74

Motion by Ohlrogge, seconded by Blindauer, to pay the following bills. All ayes. Motion carried.

Huron Regional Medical Center, Wage Garnish $292.36

First National Bank, Tax Liability $2,097.86

South Dakota Department of Health, Quarterly Payment $1,303.00

South Dakota Association of County Officials, Mod and Preservation $50.00

State Treasurer, Monthly Remittance $47,861.75

A-Ox Welding Supply, Oxygen Cylinders $39.80

SYNCB/Amazon, Supplies $402.19

AmeriPride Services, Laundry $175.50

AT&T Mobility, Cell Phone $58.27

Baker’s Repair Inc., Battery $173.95

Beadle County Auditor, Victims Advocate Share $1,100.00

Beadle County Sheriff, Prisoner Care $3,280.00

Bound Tree Medical, Supplies $38.00

Campbell Supply, Supplies $146.97

Central Electric, Electricity $258.11

Colonial Research Chemical, Supplies $121.94

Connecting Point, Yearly Support $11,415.00

Dakota Two Way, Radio, Prog, Microphone $566.00

State of South Dakota, Blood Alcohol Test $120.00

Farnams Genuine Parts, Supplies $107.93

Farnams Truck Parts, Drain Valve $12.99

First National Bank Omaha, Adobe and Fuel $103.97

Huron Regional Medical Center, Prisoner Care $166.99

John Deere Financial, Repair Axle Leak $335.14

Krohmer Plumbing Inc., Service Call $80.10

Lewis Drug, Medicine for Inmate $4.99

Local Lumber, Supplies $113.98

Mail Finance, Postage $588.00

Miner County Auditor, E-911 Services $6,250.00

National Association of Chiefs of Police, Subscription $60.00

Total Funds, Postage $1,000.00

NorthWestern Energy, Electricity $23.02

Office Peeps Inc., Supplies $22.49

Physicians Claim Company, Monthly Fees $205.03

Mitchell Area Safehouse, Quarterly Remittance $75.01

SAGA Communications of South Dakota, Ad $1,122.00

Sanborn County Ambulance, Meals $28.67

Sanborn County Treasurer, Transfer Title $20.00

Santel Communications, Phone, Internet, Tech Support $2,881.23

Dean Schaefer Court Reporting, Service $12.00

Spencer Quarries, Rip Rap $710.51

Sanborn Weekly Journal, Publishing $144.00

James D. Taylor, P.C., Mental Illness Review $443.53

Transource Truck & Equipment, Repairs $764.62

True North Steel Inc., Culverts $6,341.58

Waste Management, Garbage $314.25

Thomson Reuters-West, Law Updates $2,234.42

Wilbur-Ellis Co., Chemicals $3,194.99

Williams Musical & Office Equipment, Toner $188.00

Woony Foods, Supplies $75.68

There being no further business, motion by Ohlrogge, seconded by S. Larson, to adjourn the meeting.  All ayes.  Motion carried.  The next regularly scheduled meeting is Tuesday, August 6, 2019.  

Diane Larson

Sanborn County Auditor

Jeff Ebersdorfer

Chairman of the Board, 

Sanborn County

Comments are closed.

  • Weather

    Failure notice from provider:
    Connection Error:http_request_failed
  • Upcoming Events

    April 2024
    Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
    March 31, 2024 April 1, 2024 April 2, 2024 April 3, 2024 April 4, 2024 April 5, 2024 April 6, 2024
    April 7, 2024 April 8, 2024 April 9, 2024 April 10, 2024 April 11, 2024 April 12, 2024 April 13, 2024
    April 14, 2024 April 15, 2024 April 16, 2024 April 17, 2024 April 18, 2024 April 19, 2024 April 20, 2024
    April 21, 2024 April 22, 2024 April 23, 2024 April 24, 2024 April 25, 2024 April 26, 2024 April 27, 2024
    April 28, 2024 April 29, 2024 April 30, 2024 May 1, 2024 May 2, 2024 May 3, 2024 May 4, 2024
  • Recent Posts

  • Contact Us

    Ph/Fax: 605.796.4221

    PO BOX 218
    Woonsocket, SD 57385
  • Archives